I'm slowly starting to accept the fact that despite looking young, I am indeed aging. In fact, I'm moving toward 32 with a speed that is making me a little uncomfortable. When I was younger (like when I was 29), I always assumed that age was a state of mind. For example, my grandmother, who is north of 70 is very young at heart. She stays out late, hangs out with friends, is computer savvy, etc. Age is just a state of mind, right? Wrong. Age appears to be a set of time-triggered changes in the way you think and the way you conduct yourself.
Don't get me wrong . . . I was never young, per se. I was always middle-aged at heart -- interested in my parents' music, interested in my grandparents' movies, unable to communicate with children, best friends with old people, etc. And over the years I have been pleased to see the changes. I still love Oldies as a music genre, but now the term "Oldies" encompasses songs from my youth, which is not cool. I no longer like my grandparents' generation movies. I'm not sure when that change occurred, but I consider it a personal accomplishment that some of my favorite actors are actually still alive.
Likewise, my friends are mostly my age now, with a few notable exceptions on both ends of the spectrum. I attribute this to a fundamental change in the way I communicate -- I have loosened the pole up my rear-end.
Despite all this progress toward being at peace with my age, my generation, and the world in its current state, I've started to notice the aging process taking hold without my consent (or active encouragement). First, there is technology. I'm completely comfortable with computers and cell phones and all general aspects of modern technology, but I'm starting to get to that contemptuous "what good is this?" stage in my thinking. Admittedly, I have a Twitter account, but I just don't "get" Twitter. Why would I want to say something in 140 characters? And, better yet, who is interested in what I have to say in 140 characters? Why would anyone follow a celebrity on Twitter? I don't give a crap what Justin Bieber or Lady Gaga have to say in an entire novel, let alone in short, ungrammatical sentences. (Admission: I hold no animosity against either of these artists, and rather like their songs and their personas. I'm not old enough to rant about them . . . yet.)
Along the technology front, I'm starting to get irritated with cell phones and their multiple uses. I use my phone primarily for texting, checking Facebook (I told you, I'm still a little hip), and searching for information to settle arguments. I almost never call anyone, and I certainly don't use any of the music, video games or "apps" that are available on my BlackBerry. Currently the side of me that is still receptive to the mainstream is being wooed by the sexiness of the Droid Razr -- the second coming of my fourth, and favorite, cell phone. But I start to get all riled up by the idea of a phone that I use for approximately 1/1000th of its capability. I'm troubled because this mindset is the equivalent of wanting all-white shoes.
Don't even get me started on the iPad. Though I am a late convert to the superiority of Macs (to which I bow and apologize for not sensing their inherent worth earlier), I do not see the purpose of what amounts to a computer without a keyboard or a huge phone without the capability to actually call people. I am not so incapable of entertaining myself to need a constant EMF-emitting companion.
What troubles me most is that none of these thoughts are consciously cultivated. I remember being infatuated with video games as a kid, but now, now that I am capable of purchasing them myself, I can't even conceive of a bigger waste of money (except maybe an iPad). This transformation happened without my consent, without my effort. It's like a time-release dose of luddite-ism (luddism?), present from birth but released upon achieving my 3rd decade.
I am still comforted that I have not yet begun to add unnecessary articles to technology. Though I don't quite get Twitter, I do not call it "the Twitter." And I also haven't stopped caring about the right word or name of a technology-related item. For example, I have yet to utter a sentence like: "Last week, Lady Gaga said on 'the Tweety' that she would be on Jimmy Kimmel, but I go to bed at 9:30, so I recorded it on beta-max."
There are literally thousands of other age-incited complaints creeping into my thoughts, but I will spare you. Its currently 9:30 my time, and is now past my bedtime . . . I'm going to go check "the Facebook," take my antacid, and turn in.