Monday, November 14, 2011

HGTV Inspired Anger

I like to watch HGTV pretty regularly, mostly because I like to watch people demolish and restore houses (or parts thereof). However, I'm dismayed at the ever expanding number of shows coming out of Canada. Its the television equivalent of thinking you have a pocket full of quarters only to find that one of them is a Canadian quarter, which is essentially a worthless mimic of real currency. At least in the US. You can't pass them off as quarters to a vending machine and I feel too guilty to try to pay anyone with them. When I turn on HGTV and I hear someone say they are "oootside" my blood pressure rises ever so slightly.

But . . . shows that fly the maple leaf are actually not my biggest HGTV pet peeve. The thing that inspires the most anger in me is when any person or couple who are looking to purchase a house (House Hunters, My First Place, etc.) look at a perfectly nice house with ugly paint and start acting like it's a deal breaker. It's always something like this:

"Exasperated listing agent: Well here's this perfectly lovely house, with your exact specifications on size, price, rooms, bathrooms, bedrooms, yard space, in your perfect neighborhood, on a quiet street, in a good school district . . . oh and the Pope himself has blessed this house."

"House hunting couple: *looking around* ohhh, I don't know.  I really don't like the paint color."

SERIOUSLY! That's a few hundred bucks of paint and equipment (maybe a little more) and a weekend or so of work.  I mean you are about to put down six figures on a house and you are balking at the paint color? Whats even worse is when they do something like that and then HGTV shows their "after the move in" photos/interview and they have painted some room that was hideous before and made it more hideous, just in a totally different way.

No comments:

Post a Comment